top of page

Kai-fu Lee: The road to life lies in your every choice


Kai-fu Lee: The road to life lies in your every choice.


W3cschool


Tricky little emperor, 11-year-old international student, Obama's college classmate, 26-year-old associate professor, youth tutor and network big V, 33-year-old Apple vice president, Google China founder, innovation workshop chairman... Li Kaifu has too much The legendary experience, for him, the two largest IT companies have been in court. And every choice of his life is a successful self-transcendence.


There are always various choices on the road of life. Sometimes, God will take your head with bricks, but don't lose confidence. You can't foresee how every choice in life will be connected. The only reason to keep going is to do what you love to do.



The first choice for Li Kaifu’s life is to go to college. The two most recognized occupations in the United States were lawyers and doctors, but he felt very boring after reading a law at Columbia University and slept in class.


Later, when Li Kaifu came into contact with the computer, he found that it was more than just a programming problem. In the near future, it might help people to expand their minds. Therefore, he chose the latter without hesitation. Li Kaifu wanted to change the world and explore the value of his existence.


Two years after his Ph.D., Kai-Fu Lee entered Apple as a programmer. He never thought of entering the management position of his vice president.


I chose to enter the management because I feel that the power of the individual is still very small. When you successfully lead a team, the contribution will be greater. This is the second choice for Kai-Fu Lee’s life.


In the early 1990s, when the young people in the mainland rushed to go abroad and grab the green card, Li Kaifu left the United States and came to Beijing. Everyone thought he was stupid. When Kai-Fu Lee entered Microsoft and communicated with many Chinese youths, he found that most of the students wanted to be people who would have a lot of money to lie.


So he decided to write seven open letters to Chinese young students, telling everyone that life is alive, not just for wealth, but also for your interests, hobbies and development. This is the third important choice in his life.



In 2005, Google was preparing to enter China. Li Kaifu wanted to change jobs. As a result, Microsoft was very angry. He and Google were brought to court and accused of violating the non-compete agreement.


Microsoft even spent tens of millions of dollars to hire top lawyers to block Kai-Fu Lee, and the media also questioned his integrity. Li Kai reused all his legal and computer knowledge, and insisted that the lawsuit won. This is the fourth choice in his life.


The most important choice for Kai-Fu Lee is that in 2009, he resolutely resigned as the global vice president of Google, and then founded an innovative workshop to provide entrepreneurial guidance for many young people.


On its platform, more than half of startups get the next round of financing or mergers and acquisitions. The Innovation Workshop provided prototypes and imitations for subsequent incubators, which greatly improved the entrepreneurial environment in China. Prior to this, many people started their own businesses.


Li Kaifu once said: When I personally encountered an important choice in life, I always believed in three principles of doing things.


Have the courage to change things that can change. It represents the positive and enterprising mentality of using the Western way, and encourages us to achieve our goals through our own efforts in an attitude of never giving up and never losing our active life. Have the heart to accept things that cannot be changed. It represents the cultivation of one's self-cultivation with Chinese-style humility and rigor, and learns to recognize and accept a real, imperfect and even unjust world. Have the wisdom to distinguish the difference between the two. It is to ask us to use our own wisdom to proactively discover and choose the most complete and balanced state, and to succeed through this choice.



01 Have the courage to change things that can change


When I entered the university, I entered the law department with enthusiasm because I naively thought that I had a high political talent. Therefore, when I chose a major in college, I chose the Faculty of Humanities. I feel that I must be a lawyer or a politician in the future.


Unexpectedly, the situation is completely different from what I thought. I can't afford the spirit in my professional class, and my grades are not good. The most frustrating thing is that I don't feel the passion and motivation. I even want to throw the boring textbooks on the professor. I have nothing outstanding in this field, neither the blazing love nor the desire to dedicate myself.


In the end, I decided that it was not a suitable industry for me, so I decided to abandon the political and legal studies. Fortunately, the school allowed students to transfer, and I had found my favorite, computer science.


I don't regret it because I have spent a year. I realized that it was not the business I wanted to do. I didn't use my half-life or even my life there to be my luck. Therefore, I bravely gave up my original profession and started my new life in the computer field.



My other waiver was at Carnegie's "Meiron University, when I gave up two years of years and joined Apple. Although I have always regarded my teacher as a model, I have been fortunate enough to teach the world's top. computer science.


But the value of these things to society is not so direct. I want to do something that is directly beneficial to society, such as developing a technology or product that many people will use, or helping students discover their potential.


So, when a vice president of Apple Computer said to me, "You have to choose to write a paper that no one can understand for life, or choose to change the world," I did not hesitate to choose to change the world. I feel like I am free.


After joining Google, many reporters asked me: "You have seven years of contacts at Microsoft, and you have the trust of Bill Gates. Just give up, don't you feel sorry?" Indeed, these are valuable things. But when I saw the opportunity to return to China to start a business again, when I saw the emergence of an innovation model in the Internet age, I found that creating Google China was a unique opportunity.


So, as I said in "Following my new choices": "I have the right to choose - I chose Google. I chose China. I want to do something influential - in China, I I can help Chinese youth more and do the most influential things. I want to be the best myself - at Google, I can learn the new innovation model and become the best myself."



At the same time, I gave up my network at Microsoft, gave up the opportunity to continue working with Bill Gates, gave up the stable work, and gave up the honor of "the world's largest IT company."


The experience of my courage to give up in my life has made me more aware of my pursuit and interest, and also made me more passionate about my favorite career. Being brave to give up doesn't mean losing, but having the courage to change things that can change.


02 Have a heart to accept unchangeable things


When we make a choice, we should calmly face any outcome that may occur, neither ecstatic because of the right choice, nor regret for life because of mistakes.


Regardless of whether your decision is correct or not, no matter what its outcome, the decisions you have made cannot be recovered. You must accept it or accept it in the future. Anything or remorse is superfluous about what has happened, or something that you have no control over.


Instead of spending time on unnecessary anxiety, it's better to put these things "lightly" down and then easily do what you should.


In a certain department of Microsoft Corporation, there is a overbearing manager J. When he first joined the company, he took the subordinates and started to find some unscrupulous crimes to dismiss some capable staff in order to replace the team with "owners."


At that time, the poor subordinates in the J department often came to ask for help. A subordinate named S told me after receiving the punishment from J that he could use evidence to prove that he had not done anything wrong. So, I helped S appeal to the boss of J. Under the ironclad, S got a new job.


But the situation of another subordinate D is completely different. His situation is very difficult, because J buried the perjury in D's computer and then dismissed him on the grounds of accepting bribes. I have communicated with D many times and believe that he is being defamed. But under the evidence, I can't make a fuss for him.


In particular, I did not have enough authority and credibility to interfere with other departments soon after I joined the company. After a "heavy" analysis, I decided not to mention D to anyone, just watching him leave the company with grievances.



Afterwards, a friend asked me: "Don't you be upset because you can't get the same treatment for S and D?" I replied: "Although I feel sorry for the inability to save D, I must see clearly, what? Things are powerless.


Moreover, since I have decided that I can't help him, I will only let go of this thing ‘lightly. I should focus on my work, so that one day, I can have enough authority and credibility to help others. ”


The good news is that after many years, J was dismissed from the company, and both S and D have achieved remarkable results in new positions.


03 has wisdom to distinguish the difference between the two


When I feel overwhelmed by the choices, I will use a special "headline test method" to test my words and deeds.


The so-called "newspaper test method" is to think about it afterwards: Tomorrow, if you are doing a headline news in a newspaper that your friends and family will read, will you be ashamed of it? Will you be unable to face your own conscience? If not, what you do is worthy of your own values.


I met a company layoff when I was working at Apple, and I had to cut one from two employees.


The first employee graduated from Carnegie Mellon University and is my brother. The paper he wrote more than ten years ago is very good, but after joining the company is very lonely, stubborn, and work hard, there is not much performance. He knows that after facing the crisis, I would like to ask our common teacher to come up with the hope that I will care for the friendship of the classmates and let him go.


The other is a new employee who has just joined the company for two months. He still has no time to perform, but he should be a potential employee.


The values ​​of "just" and "responsible" in my heart tell me that I should cut off my brother, but my concept of "compassion" and "knowledge" tells me that I should leave my brother and cut the new employee. .



So, I did a "newspaper test" for myself. In tomorrow's newspaper, I would like to see which of the following headlines:


(1) Li Kaifu, who is smuggling, has laid off innocent employees;


(2) The cold Li Kaifu cut off the brothers of the classmates.


Although I am extremely reluctant to see any of these two "headlines", in contrast, the former has given me a greater blow because it violates my most basic principles of good faith. If I violate the principle of good faith, then I have neither seen the company's leadership nor qualified to be a professional manager.


So, I cut off my brother, and then I told him that if there is any need for me in the future, I will try my best to help.


A person must even have a variety of seemingly contradictory qualities in order to apply the correct one in a complex situation depending on the specific situation.


Using wisdom to actively choose "complete" and "equilibrium" between various seemingly contradictory factors, this is the biggest secret of "choice of success."

李开复:人生之路,就在于你的每一次选择中


w3cschool


捣蛋的小皇帝、 11 岁的留学生、奥巴马的大学同学、 26 岁的副教授、青年导师和网络大 V 、 33 岁的苹果副总裁、谷歌中国的创始人、创新工场董事长……李开复有着太多传奇的经历,为了他,两家最大的 IT 公司曾经对簿公堂。而他的每一次人生选择,都是一次成功的自我超越。

人生的道路上总是面临着各种各样的选择,有时候,老天会拿砖块拍你的头,但不要失去信心。你没办法预见人生每一个抉择将如何联系,继续走下去的唯一理由,就是做你爱做的事。


李开复人生第一个选择是上大学。当时在美国最被认可的两个职业是律师和医生,但他在哥伦比亚大学读了一年法律后觉得十分枯燥,也在课堂上睡觉。

后来,当李开复接触到计算机的时候,发现它不仅仅是一个编程问题,在不久的将来,它有可能帮助人扩建他们的思想。于是,他义无反顾的选择了后者,李开复想去改变这个世界,去挖掘去发现自己存在的价值。

博士毕业两年后,李开复以一个程序员的身份进入了苹果公司。从未想过进入管理层的他做到副总裁的位置。

我之所以选择进入管理层是因为我觉得,个人的力量还是很小的,当你成功带领了一个团队之后再做出的贡献就会比较大。这是李开复人生的第二个选择。

九十年代初,在大陆青年都争着出国,抢绿卡的时候,李开复却离开美国,来到北京,所有人都觉得他好傻。当李开复进入微软,与许多中国青年们交流后,发现大部分学生希望成为躺在那就会有大把钱花的人。

于是,他决定给中国青年学生写七封公开信,告诉大家其实人生在世,不只是为了财富,还有你的兴趣、爱好和发展。这是他人生的第三个重要的选择。


2005 年,谷歌准备进入中国,李开复想跳槽,结果东家微软十分生气,把他和谷歌告上了法庭,指控其违反了竞业禁止协议。

微软甚至花费上千万美元雇用顶级的律师来阻击李开复,媒体也质疑他的诚信。李开复用上了自己所有的法律和计算机知识,坚持之下,官司取得了胜利。这是他人生的第四个选择。

李开复最重要的选择是在 2009 年,他毅然辞去了谷歌全球副总裁的职位,紧接着创办了创新工场,为众多年轻人提供创业指导。

在其平台上,超过半数的创业公司获得下一轮融资或被并购。创新工场为后续的孵化器提供了样板和模仿的对象,很大程度上改善了中国的创业环境。在此之前,许多人的创业都是单打独斗。

李开复曾经说过:当我个人碰到人生重要的选择时,我一直信奉三个做事原则

有勇气来改变可以改变的事情。代表了用西方式的积极进取的心态,以永不放弃、永不消沉的主动人生态度,鼓励我们靠自己的努力达到目的。有胸怀来接受不可改变的事情。代表了用中国式的谦恭谨让的度量来培养自己的修养,学会承认和接受真实的、不完美甚至不公正的世界。有智慧来分辨两者的不同。就是要求我们使用自己的智慧,主动发现并选择最完整、最均衡的状态,并通过这一选择获得成功。


01 有勇气来改变可以改变的事情

进入大学的时候,我踌躇满志地进入了法律系,因为我天真地认为自己有很高的政治天赋。所以,大学选专业时,我选读了人文学院,我觉得自己将来一定要做一位律师或一位政治家。

不料,情形完全不像我想的那样。我在专业课上提不起精神,成绩也不好,最令人沮丧的是,我感觉不到激情和动力,甚至想把枯燥无味的课本扔到教授身上。我在这个领域没有什么出众之处,既没有那种炽烈的热爱,更没有献身的欲望。

最终,我认定那不是一个合适我的行业,于是我决定放弃政治和法律专业的学习。很幸运的是,学校允许学生转系,而且,我当时已经找到了自己的最爱——计算机科学。

我并不因为已经花费了一年的时间而懊悔。我认识到,那不是我想从事的事业,我没有在那里用掉我的半生甚至毕生的时间才是我的幸运。所以,我勇敢地放弃了原来的专业,开始了我在计算机领域的崭新人生。


我的另一次的放弃是在卡内基"梅隆大学教书时,放弃了两年的年资而加入了苹果公司。虽然我一直把我的老师当作楷模,而且又有幸任教于世界顶尖的计算机系。

但这些事情对社会的价值并不是那么直接。我希望去做一些直接有益于社会的事,比如研发一种很多人都会使用的技术或产品,或是去帮助学生发掘他们的潜力。

所以,当苹果电脑的一位副总裁对我说“你要选择终身写些没有人读得懂的论文,还是要选择改变世界”时,我毫不犹豫地选择了改变世界。我的感觉就像是获得了自由。

加入Google后,有许多记者问我:“在微软你有七年的人脉,有比尔·盖茨的信任,就这么放弃了,你不觉得可惜吗?”确实,这些是很有价值的东西,但是当我看到有回到中国再一次创业的机会,当我看到一个互联网时代创新模式的产生,我发现,创立Google中国是一个独一无二的机会。

于是,就像我在“追随我新的抉择”中所说的:“我有选择的权利——我选择了Google。我选择了中国。我要做有影响力的事——在中国,我能更多地帮助中国的青年,做最有影响力的事。我要成为最好的自己——在Google,我能经过学习新的创新模式,成为最好的自己。”


同时,我放弃了在微软的人脉,放弃了继续与比尔·盖茨工作的机会,放弃了那安稳的工作,放弃了那“世界第一大IT公司”的荣誉。

我人生中这几次勇于放弃的经历,都使我更加清楚自己的追求和兴趣所在,也使我更有激情去从事自己喜爱的事业。勇于放弃不意味着失去,而是有勇气改变可以改变的事情。

02 有胸怀来接受不可改变的事情

当我们在做出抉择后,应当坦然面对可能发生的任何结果,既不要因为抉择正确而欣喜若狂,也不要因为抉择失误而悔恨终生。

无论你的抉择正确与否,无论它的结果如何,已经做出的决定就无法收回了,你只有坦然接受它,或者在今后想办法补救。对于已经发生的事情,或者自己已经无法控制的事情,任何担忧或悔恨都是多余的。

与其把时间花在无谓的焦虑上,倒不如把这些东西“轻轻”放下,然后一身轻松地去做自己应该做的事。

在微软公司的某个部门里,有一位霸道的经理J,他刚加入公司就拿下属开刀,总是找些莫须有的罪名遣散一些能干的职员,以便把队伍换成“自己人”。

当时,J部门里那些可怜的下属常常来向我求救。有一位名叫S的下属在收到J的处分后向我表明,他可以用证据证明自己没有做错任何事。于是,我帮S上诉到J的老板那里,在铁证之下,S得到了一个新的工作。

但另一个下属D的境遇就完全不同了,他的处境非常艰难,因为J这次在D的计算机里埋下了伪证,然后以受贿为理由解雇了他。我曾多次与D沟通,相信他是被冤枉的。但在证据之下,我无法为他伸冤。

尤其是,我当时刚加入公司不久,还没有足够的职权和信誉来干涉别的部门的事情。经过“重重”的分析,我决定不向任何人提起D的事情,只是看着他一身委屈地离开公司。


事后,有朋友问我:“你难道不会因为自己无法给S和D争取同样的待遇而懊恼吗?”我回答说:“虽然我对无法挽救D感到万分遗憾,但我必须看清楚,什么事是我无能为力的。

而且,既然已经决定不能帮助他,我就只有‘轻轻’地放下这件事,多想无益。我应该把精力放在我的工作中,这样,也许有一天,我就可以有足够的职权和信誉来帮助其他人。”

让人欣慰的是,多年以后,J被公司解职,S和D则都在新的岗位取得了骄人的成绩。

03有智慧来分辨两者的不同

在面临选择而感到不知所措的时候,我会用一个特别的“报纸头条测试法”来检验自己的言行。

所谓“报纸测试法”,就是在事后想一想:明天,如果在一份你的亲朋好友都会阅读的报纸上,你做的事被刊登为头条新闻,你会不会因此而感到羞愧?会不会无法面对自己的良心?如果不会,你做的事才对得起你自己的价值观。

我在苹果公司工作时遇到了公司裁员,当时我必须要从两个员工中裁掉一位。

第一位员工毕业于卡内基·梅隆大学,是我的师兄。他十多年前写的论文非常出色,但加入公司后很是孤僻、固执,而且工作不努力,没有太多业绩可言。他知道面临危机后就请我们共同的老师来提出希望我顾念同窗之谊,放他一马。

另一位是刚加入公司两个月的新员工,还没有时间表现,但他应该是一位有潜力的员工。

我内心里的“公正”和“负责”的价值观告诉我应该裁掉师兄,但是我的“怜悯心”和“知恩图报”的观念却告诉我应该留下师兄,裁掉那位新员工。


于是,我为自己做了“报纸测试”。在明天的报纸上,我希望看到下面哪一个头条消息呢:

(1)徇私的李开复,裁掉了无辜的员工;

(2)冷酷的李开复,裁掉了同窗的师兄。

虽然我极不愿意看到这两个“头条消息”中的任何一条,但相比之下,前者给我的打击更大,因为它违背了我最基本的诚信原则。如果我违背了诚信原则,那么我既没有颜面见到公司的领导,也没有资格再作职业经理人了。

于是,我裁掉了师兄,然后我告诉他,今后如果有任何需要我的地方,我都会尽力帮忙。

一个人甚至要同时具备多种看似相互矛盾的品质,才能在复杂的境遇中因具体情景不同而运用正确的一种。

用智慧在各种看似矛盾的因素之间主动选择“完整”和“均衡”,这是“选择成功”的最大秘诀。

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

verve

Her painting always have a sense of verve which I can immediately discovery. This is a very special talent. And it seemes Not everyone...

Push the solid ball

TEXT: I can resolve what the president obama said in his lecture on the education and future forum, except you MUST open the thin door....

Comments


bottom of page