top of page

I Envy not in any Moods


by Lord Alfred Tennyson


I envy not in any moods The captive void of noble rage, The linnet born within the cage, That never knew the summer woods: I envy not the beast that takes His license in the field of time, Unfetter'd by the sense of crime, To whom a conscience never wakes; Nor, what may count itself as blest, The heart that never plighted troth But stagnates in the weeds of sloth; Nor any want-begotten rest.

I hold it true, whate'er befall; I feel it, when I sorrow most; 'Tis better to have loved and lost Than never to have loved at all.


我不嫉妒笼中的小鸟


我不嫉妒笼中的小鸟——

这缺少高贵怒火的囚徒,

无情地将自己禁锢,

从来也不懂盛夏森林里的奇妙;


我不嫉妒肆意妄为的野兽——

只知在自己的领地里放纵无度,

从不因罪恶感而有所收敛约束,

更不曾因良心发现而忧愁;


我从不嫉妒从未盟誓过的心——

尽管它自认幸福,

却只在怠惰的杂草中朽腐,

不懂得如何挽救自身的贫乏。


不论何事降临,我确信,

在最悲痛的时候我也这样认为:

宁愿爱过而失去,

也远远胜于从未爱过。

2 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page